Skip to content ↓

National Curriculum

All maintained primary schools in England are required to follow the National Curriculum, as an academy, we recognise that the National Curriculum provides a strong basis for the education of our children, which we choose to follow. The National Curriculum sets out both programmes of study (the broad areas pupils should learn) and descriptions of the attainment levels they should reach as they progress through school. It defines the knowledge the children should be taught and the breadth of study we should deliver to them. 


The compulsory subjects of the national curriculum are: 

Core Subjects: 

  • English 
  • Maths 
  • Science 
  • design and technology 
  • history 
  • geography 
  • art and design 
  • music 
  • physical education (PE), including swimming 
  • computing 
  • ancient and modern foreign languages (at key stage 2) 

In addition, we also teach Personal, Social and Health Education. 

The Key Stages:  

Primary school year groups in England can be classified as follows: 

  • Early Years Foundation Stage – Nursery and Reception – ages 3 to 5 
  • Key Stage 1 – Years 1 and 2 – ages 5 to 7 
  • Key Stage 2 – Years 3, 4, 5 and 6  – ages 7 to 11 

More detailed information regarding the national curriculum can be found on the DfE website using the links below: